Review: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

I’m always on the lookout for more efficient ways to remove makeup, and the word on the beauty blogger street has been all about micellar water. Now I’ve used one before and found it pretty good, but I decided not to blog about it as it was rather pricey.

micellar-water-edited-1

What makes Garnier’s Micellar Cleansing Water so great is that you get a huge 400ml bottle for around £4 (it claims over 200 uses). For anyone that hasn’t used micellar water, it contains ‘micelles’ that work as a magnet to attract makeup and general grime. All you need to do is take a cotton pad and rub it gently over your face for one step make up removal and cleansing.

What it claims to do:

Cleanses and removes make up gently in one step’ leaving you with ‘perfectly cleansed and refreshed skin without rubbing or rinsing‘.

Does it live up to the hype?

My conclusion: kind of. Whilst this product definitely does a good job of removing foundation, and most eye make up, I can’t help but feel like my skin needs cleansing with an extra product afterwards. In my opinion, it’s perfect for removing light, everyday make up, and it’s nice not to have to scrub at stubborn mascaras. However, for heavier occasion makeup (a heavy base or lots of dark eye make up), it really is only the first step, and an extra product would be needed.

Despite my criticisms, micellar water really is leading the make up removal market at the moment, so it does deserve a bit of praise. I’ve had this for a few weeks now and the 400ml bottle is still going strong. It’s the kind of product that should always be in your cupboard.

Step away from the face wipes!

Has anyone else tried this? How have you got on?

4 thoughts on “Review: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

  1. I have used this product a few times and although I love it, it looks like water!!, I also cleanse my face with a face gel ( Clinique step 2 ). I never feel fully clean if I don’t. But I have to say that I am impressed by a product that looks like water. It coos a good job.

Leave a Reply

