4 Reasons You Need To Be Using A Makeup Primer

A few of my favourites...
A few of my favourites…

Primers were only really a recent discovery for me, and there’s a lot of make up wearers who still don’t use one. There are so many benefits to priming your skin before applying make up, and so it’s really worth investing in one. The beauty of it is that there are plenty of primers out that that won’t break the bank, but will give you noticeable better results. What are the benefits, I hear you ask?

1. It keeps your make up in place

One of the best things about using a primer is that is it keeps your make up in place for longer. We’ve all been there – you painstakingly apply a perfect base of moisturiser, foundation and concealer and catch a glimpse of yourself in the mirror a couple of hours later to find that your make up has magically disappeared. A primer wages a war on disappearing make up.

2. It’ll give you a flawless finish

Lots of make up artists compare the face to a canvas, and say that primer is the necessary tool in readying the surface. Primers smooth out the skin, minimise pores, fills fine lines and generally prepares your skin for make up, making the overall appearance look much more even.

3. It’ll give you healthier, clearer skin

Primers essentially create a barrier between your make up and your skin. This means that heavy make up isn’t clogging your pores as much, and the primer can work on fixing impurities rather than letting your make up aggravate them further.

4. It’s specifically tailored for your skin type

There’s a massive range of primers available, and they all do different things. For example, I use No7 Colour Calming Primer, as my skin is prone to blemishes. This makes my skin look less angry and red. However, there are plenty of other types of primers to suit your specific skin type, including pore minimising, hydrating and SPF.

Apply your primer after moisturising. I apply a small amount to my face with my fingers, concentrating especially on areas where make up tends to ‘cake’, such as around the nose and under the eyes. Then, carry on with your usual routine – it’s as simple as that.

Do you use a primer?

Follow me on Twitter and Google+!

twitter birdfacebookgoogle+ - Copylinkedinpinterestinstagram

2 thoughts on “4 Reasons You Need To Be Using A Makeup Primer

  1. My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post actually made my day.
    You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this
    information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

